Back to life, back to reality

You know that feeling you get when you are about to go on vacation, and while you are on vacation? That relaxing, peaceful feeling? Ok, then you are also familiar with that feeling you get right before your vacation is about to end…which is exactly where I am right now. I had a great relaxing week of vacation up in the mountains in Pinecrest, CA and the last 28 hours home has been a whirlwind of 6+ loads of laundry (that are still not all folded and put away), unpacking and then repacking the Lair bin where I store the clothing I only wear at the Lair (read: my 20+ Lair t-shirts that I seriously can't wear in 1 week but pack anyways!!) I stayed up late last night knitting (new project…LOVE it) and watching the new Project Runway that was waiting for me on our DVR. I procrastinated going to bed because I knew if I went to sleep that my vacation would be over, and I don't want it to be over (I don't, I don't, I don't).

Don't get me wrong, there are plenty of great things coming up that I am looking forward to (Cal football starting, going to Minnesota, going back to the Lair for a long weekend, going to France for work) I just can't shake the fact that my vacation is over. I guess that tends to happen when you look forward to something for so long, you plan, you enjoy and then its gone.

I guess this transition back to the "real world" is made even more difficult because I have a 5-7 page final paper due Tuesday that, oh yeah, I just started working on when I got home. The assignment was handed out the Wednesday before we left for vacation and I didn't get a chance to work on it at all, but I am channeling the Jojo of my younger days in college where a Red Bull and a bag of chips would carry me through an all-nighter studying for whatever Sociology exam I had the next day. Every time I swore I would study with plenty of time ahead to NEVER have to pull an all-nighter ever again…but here we are. I will not be pulling an all-nighter. I have come a long way from my cram sessions and enjoy doing my homework ahead of time and being prepared, but I will be in front of my computer for a few hours tomorrow night finishing up my paper just in time to turn it in by Tuesday night.

It's easy to focus and type away when I have a sleeping curled-up kitty next to me, and good music on my headphones, thanks to Pandora!

Mosaiccabe86f17e5a85061022d53ed8759a022cd2fd17 

Thank you vacation, I'll miss you, see you again soon I hope! Don't be a stranger!

Leave a comment

Filed under Friends, Music, Weekend re-cap

Leave a Reply

